Pushing it a bit

I’ve been struggling with my computer for the last few days trying to get the video to render properly. One slight change from my settings ended up reducing the render time from 26 hours to… 38 minutes. It is ridiculous what one codec change can do.

I really should have done my film rendering earlier on in the game so I could get the 3D working with it, but you live and you learn.

I’m actually pleased with the result. The 3D map in the corner of the video doesn’t look spectacular, but it shows the structure being renegotiated in real-time with the peoples movements.

It probably would have been easier for me to code some motion detection or something as I have 10 A4 pages of scribbled numbers. Mapping the time that people appear in a video, the sections of my render they activate and the times.

Leave a Reply

